blog > March > 2019 > What are the Charges for Possession of Drugs for Sale & Transportation in Santa Rosa?
What are the Charges for Possession of Drugs for Sale & Transportation in Santa Rosa?
Transporting and selling narcotics is illegal in California. Even those who transport prescribed drugs without a valid prescription can be punished under the law. If convicted, a person could end up serving up to nine years in jail. Joe Bisbiglia in Santa Rosa can help you come out successfully from a drug transportation case conviction. Equipped with over 15 years of experience, Joe Bisbiglia is a renowned Santa Rosa attorney.
California Health and Safety Code 11352 recognizes transportation of controlled substances as a criminal offense. The judge considers various factors such as the criminal history of the suspect and any other criminal activity in that area when awarding punishment in a case that involves transporting drugs or importing drugs into the state. Penalties in such cases include 3, 4, or 5 years in prison plus a fine of up to $20,000. Those who are caught transporting drugs to a non-contiguous county may face up to 3, 6, or 9 years in prison.
When pronouncing judgment in a drug transportation case, courts also consider aggravating factors such as whether the suspect was trying to sell controlled substances to a minor. Drug transportation case convicted individuals, apart from serving a jail term, they may also have to abide by parole conditions such as avoiding contact with certain people, getting drug tested at regular intervals, checking-in with their parole officer, and not resisting random searches.
Marijuana Transportation in California
Though the state of California allows recreational use of marijuana, it is still considered a Schedule I drug. Only a primary caregiver with a valid license can legally transport marijuana. Individuals who are caught transporting marijuana illegally might end up serving up to six months in jail. Also, they have to pay a fine of up to $500. Those with a criminal history might have to face up to four years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
Transporting Methamphetamine in California
Individuals caught transporting methamphetamine in California may have to serve up to four years in prison. Those convicted for transporting methamphetamine to a non-contiguous county may have to face up to nine years in prison.
Defenses to Transporting Charges
To avoid conviction, the suspect has to prove that they:
Did not know the presence of drugs in the cargo they were transporting, or
Had a valid prescription, or
The drug is not a controlled substance.
If you are confronting drug transportation charges then, you need to act fast to avoid conviction. Book a consultation with Joe Bisbiglia, and he will ensure that you are understood in the court. To get immediate assistance, call us at 707-595-5974. For general inquiries, you may fill our contact form.